Top Ten Tuesday REWIND

So this week the Top Ten Tuesday from The Broke and the Bookish is a freebie to choose from an older topic. I went with “Top Ten Books I Recommend the Most”, which I read as recommending to other people the most often, not that I necessarily recommend the most of all I’ve read. If that makes sense. Cause they aren’t always the same. Also I don’t really recommend books that often because the pressure! What if they don’t like it? What if I may someone waste time on a book they can’t stand? So yeah.

House_of_leaves

House of Leaves by Mark Z. Danielewski. When I try to get people to read this (so far I’ve succeeded 1 time) I describe it as a mix of art and literature. It’s about a house that’s bigger on the inside than the outside, so that should appeal to the Doctor Who fans. And it was recommended to me by a librarian!

tidholm-norrland-front2-200x286

Norrland by Po Tidholm. Norrland is the northern 2/3 of Sweden. It’s where most of the natural resources come from, and growing up there we learned almost nothing about the political and historical things that affected that part of the land. This book rectifies this in a brilliant way that also makes you kind of depressed about it.

Bill_bryson_a_short_history

A Short History of Nearly Everything by Bill Bryson. Not only were we forced to read Bryson in English 101 at University, he also wrote this – actually interesting – book!

TEOMYbig

The End of Mr. Y by Scarlett Thomas. This is a book that I bought cause I think it’s pretty. Black pages! (Thomas also wrote Pop Co, which is equally good looking, at least in my version.) I see that it also got this pretentious review on Goodreads, which is hilarious:

“This is perhaps the worst book I ever finished. I don’t really recommend it. The thought experiment aspect of the book could have been interesting, but was unfortunately written for people who haven’t read Baudrillard and don’t understand particle physics.”

51oXKWrcYYL

Thinking, Fast and Slow by Daniel Kahneman. Nobel laureates in economy are not normally my cup of tea. At least, until I found this book. There are still parts of it I read very fast since they were boring (statistics and crap), but the bigger story was quite interesting.

21114511._UY200_

Amsterdam: A History of the World’s Most Liberal City by Russell Shorto. Amsterdam is a beautiful city, but who knew its history before this? (Well, apart from the dutchies…) It’s well written, interesting and funny all at the same time. It made me look at the city differently.

download

The Island at the Center of the World: The Epic Story of Dutch Manhattan and the Forgotten Colony That Shaped America by Russell Shorto. Not the easiest title of a book to remember, but I guess he at least got to mention everything he wanted to in there. The history of Manhattan! And just like Shorto’s book on Amsterdam it’s so interesting that you forget that you’re also learning things.

51AFVSWH53L

Watching the English: The Hidden Rules of English Behaviour by Kate Fox. Goodreads says:

In WATCHING THE ENGLISH anthropologist Kate Fox takes a revealing look at the quirks, habits and foibles of the English people. She puts the English national character under her anthropological microscope, and finds a strange and fascinating culture, governed by complex sets of unspoken rules and byzantine codes of behaviour.

fallvatten_inb_low

Fallvatten by Mikael Niemi. Is this even translated into English? If not it should be! A dam in northern Sweden breaks after severe raining. That’s pretty much all I’ll say about it.

15745753

Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell. I had pretty high expectations on this book when I read it, cause there were so many different places/sites/people who were talking about it and saying that it was great. So obviously I was sceptical. But they were right, I loved and continued to read everything by Rowell.

Leave a Reply

