Top Ten Tuesday

It’s Tuesday, so that means it’s time for The Broke and the Bookish TTT!

August 30: Back To School Freebie – anything “back to school” related. I went for “Where the protagonist goes to (some sort of) school”, which turned into a top 7:

  • Fangirl by Rainbow Rowell
    Rowell’s books really appeal to me, which is why there are – exceptionally – two books from the same author in this week’s list. This book works fan fiction into the story, which amused me.
  • Jellicoe Road by Melina Marchetta
    This is a book I’d heard about for years before I managed to find it. And it’s good (but maybe not as good as I had hyped it up to after those years?)
  • Please Ignore Vera Dietz by A.S. King
    To be honest I don’t recall a great deal about this book, but my reading diary tells me I really liked it when I read it, so it clearly belongs in this post.
  • To All The Boys I’ve Loved Before by Jenny Han
    This book started a trilogy (?), and this was by far the best part of it. Can of course be read as a standalone book as well.
  • Where’d You Go, Bernadette by Maria Semple
    This is a book I enjoyed at the time, but which has stuck in my mind in the way most books don’t. I intend to revisit this book soon, to see if it’s as good as I remember.
  • Miss Peregrine’s Home For Peculiar Children by Ransom Riggs
    I’m sure you all know this one, considering it’s now turned into a movie and all. (If anyone’s seen the movie, feel free to let me know if it’s terribly disappointing or worth seeing…)
  • Eleanor & Park by Rainbow Rowell
    This is a super sweet book about teenage love, that I really think everyone should read.
7 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

  1. Love that you dared turn this into a top 7. 10 is sometimes an awful lot.

    Looking forward to starting on Fangirl! Just need to find a creative way to fit it into my challenge. Starting to think I’m not made for challenges, too much bending of the rules 😛

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Haha, thanks! I was scrolling through my list of read books looking for things that could possibly fit in, then just gave up and thought 7 is enough!

      Yeah, the one you’re doing is pretty specific. At least the one I’m still working in focuses on only quantity and country, that’s enough work to keep track of for me as it is 😛

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Oh oh SO MUCH LOVE FOR FANGIRL!! *flails* And I really want to read Jellicoe Road but I’ve been told it’s very very painful…so I’m hiding from it currently. ahha. But I kind of need to get brave and read it ASAP, with it being Australian and I being Australian and all. *nods* 😂 I also can’t wait to read To All the Boys! I have it on reserve at my library! CUE IMPATIENT FLAILS.
    Here’s my TTT!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

