Top Ten Tuesday

It’s Tuesday and time for The Broke and the Bookish TTT!

September 13: Top Ten ALL TIME Favorite Books Of X Genre (I know, I know. Picking all time faves. I’m MEAN. But I like knowing people’s definitive faves). Can also break it down into sub-genre if that helps?

Again somewhat of a freebie. This time I’m going with crime novels, cause it’s something like this I’ll need now that the book that (I thought would) never end, ended. There are no spoilers cause that kind of defeats the purpose… keepin’ it vague, it’s like it could be my motto!

Blacklands by Belinda Bauer (Exmoor trilogy #1). The second part of this trilogy – Darkside – is also well worth reading.

Sharp Objects by Gillian Flynn. Everyone talks (talked) about Gone Girl, but I found this one much more captivating. And it’s stayed with me.

A Place of Execution by Val McDermid. McDermid is part of the group of writers I go back to when I need something “easy” to read in between.

The Bat by Jo Nesbø. There’s just something about Harry Hole that makes me like him, and Nesbø is one of few writers where I’ll keep track of when they’re releasing new books.

Before I Go To Sleep by S.J. Bolton. Apparently this has also be turned into a movie, which I obviously can’t see because there is no way that’ll be good.

Into the Darkest Corner by Elizabeth Haynes. Well, took me some looking up cause I read this one in Swedish and the translator/publisher had just gone to town when deciding what the title should be translated as… (no similarity).

 

What She Knew by Gilly Macmillan. “My” newspaper gives free e-books to subscribers during summer, and this is one of the books I got. I can pretty much guarantee that I would never have read it otherwise, so very happy about this. Thanks DN!

The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins. Yes, I know. Everyone’s been talking about it and it’s super hyped. But I still enjoyed it, so it belongs here nonetheless.

Tokyo by Mo Hayder. I got this book through a book swap with the expat group. As the title would suggest, it has something to do with Japan…

Last Rituals by Yrsa Sigurðardóttir. Not a fan of gloomy Icelandic landscapes? Then you should probably stay away from Yrsa and Arnaldur’s books. I love it and plan to read them all.

5 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

