The social interactions

Today’s my birthday! I’m surprisingly fine with (very soon) being closer to 40 than 30. No age crisis quite yet. As Dutch custom has it, I also brought treats for my colleagues. Unfortunately, Dutch custom also has it that the proper way to congratulate someone on their birthday is to kiss their cheeks. And not once, but three friggin’ times per person.

Think of that, and add anti-social me, and you can see why this is not my favorite day of the year.

Fun notes regarding the cheek kissing in NL: iamexpat & stuffdutchpeoplelike.

wp-1474276059681.jpg

Proper home made Swedish kanelbullar. (And yes they’re all different sizes because I’m not very good at making them. They were still delicious though.)

4 thoughts on “The social interactions

Leave a Reply

