Top Ten Tuesday

It’s Tuesday and time for another  The Broke and the Bookish TTT!

October 11:  All About Books You Read Because of Recommendation — Ten Books I’ve Read Because Of Another  Blogger (Or Book Person) or Ten Books I Read On Recommendation From People Outside Of This Community or you could talk about recommendations of books you read from other sources — a magazine, a podcast, a “because you read this” algorithm.

Woah, this is tricky! I’m very careful about reading recommended books, because people in my vicinity try to just push books on me that they enjoyed, without at all asking what kind of books I like. This is not the recipe for success. So I will try to just come up with books that were recommended to me which I actually liked. Not sure that will end up with even 10, but we shall see.

  1. I’m sorry, but this is a repeat. Can’t avoid it. Mark Z. Danielewski’s House of Leaves. It’s been years since I read it, and I still think about every few months.
  2. Cathedral of the Sea by Ildefonso Falcones. When talking books with one of the sales managers at my old job (as you do), she recommended this one. I honestly don’t remember any details from it, but I enjoyed it and they built a cathedral!
  3. George RR Martin’s A Game of Thrones. I tried to watch the show first, but the first episode was so slow it was just not possible. A friend then said I should give the books a try, since they gave a better background etc.
  4. My friend Vicky was talking about Haruki Murakami, but 1Q84 was too daunting for me, so I went with this instead – Colorless Tsukuru Tazaki and His Years of Pilgrimage.
  5. The person I live with loves this book, and made me read it before we even were a couple. Nowadays I count Neal Stephenson to my favorite authors. Snow Crash!
  6. I think John Green talked about this book in one of the vlogbrother videos, and made it sound nice. So I read it. And while it’s not one of my top reads ever, it was a nice read. Jennifer E. Smith’s The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight.

Aaand, that was that. Those are the ones I can connect directly to a recommendation in my head. There are other books that I’ve read due to recommendations, but then it’s been form multiple sources and I can’t pinpoint who was/had the final straw.

3 thoughts on “Top Ten Tuesday

Leave a Reply

