Feminist Friday and 2017

My niece and nephew really adhere to traditional gender roles. The boy wanted star wars lego and the girl lego friends (the dumbed-down version where you barely have to build) and nail polish. Oh, and what the girl wanted most in the whole world was a singing Elsa doll. She got it from her parents and spent hours proclaiming her love for the doll and singing along to Let it go. Bliss… At least she’s hilarious too, to make up for the girliness, and she’s bossy and he’s obedient.

Before the kids started daycare/school their interests were much more diverse, so I can only assume this comes from other kids and the teachers there. Which is a shame, cause how do we get away from it then?

I don’t really do new  year’s resolutions, but do agree that a fresh new year feels like a good time to start with good intentions. For 2017 mine are:

  • thinking of my health and start moving more. no numbers, explicit goals or deadlines, but simply that – move more, be kind to my body.
  • favorize women! more female authors and artists (I challenge you Lisaanni! especially for the music part)
  • continue learning stuff. my work is honestly in a rut and going nowhere, so I have to compensate by learning other things. first up? a uni course in cartography cause why not.

That’s it. There’ll be monthly reports on how I’m doing.

For today – how can I not have heard of Ida Maria until today?

6 thoughts on “Feminist Friday and 2017

  1. Be kind to your body is an excellent goal!

    So you’re telling me I can’t sort of balance my reading against my music and call it quits…? I’ve just gone through my TBR-list, there’s one man on it (pure accident). Also: try finding good non-cliché metal by women. I tell you, I’m not sure there is such a thing.

    But yeah. You’re right. Here’s a plan: at least make all playlists 50/50. Starting with the playlist I’m currently listening to.

    PS. Yay for monthly reports!

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Exactly! Any step in the good direction counts, whether that’s 50/50 or 70/30! I think I’ll aim for 75% female writers 🙂

      That is a problem! Before Brody I had an issue with female punk singers, not sure why…

      Like

      1. Is it possible it could be explained simply by how few women there actually are in music? I mean just think of the percentage of all male bands/artists you don’t like. There’s literally hoards of them. So if the selection isn’t great, logic shuld dictate it’s going to be difficult to find one that you do like?

        Ah punk singers. Makes me think of Courtney. Not striktly punk but anyways. Oh and Bikini Kill. Scarling. Starting to think the fact my playlists are male dominated is a mystery.

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

