Listen to the words I say

I struggle with a colleague. In my team of 5, there are 4 introverts and 1 extrovert. This extrovert is seriously killing me. This person doesn’t listen to all the words I say, just some, and then they make an interpretation of what was said. I’m not sure if this is due to the outgoing nature of the person, but to me they’re linked.

Example:

(me): Well I see that it’s wrong, but I’m not sure if they have to change something in the background too, so it’s better if you ask them to fix it so that everything goes right.

(colleague, 10 minutes later): He said he fixed it, but it went really fast and you said it was more complex with more things that had to be done.

Just… no. Listen to the words I say. Don’t interpret. The words are LITERALLY what I mean. There is no between the lines.

My partner calls me “very literal” and “part vulcan” (we’re re-watching Star Trek, it came up). I choose to see these as a compliments.

2 thoughts on “Listen to the words I say

  1. 100% thought this was some sort of allusion to In Flames’ Rusted Nail.

    Unfortunately. I think you’re just going to have to accept that in life, there will be people with whom you have no chemistry, which leads to misunderstandings. I mean I’m on your side because I’m exactly the same, but it seems as no matter how you try, with some people, there just is no common ground. It’s not exactly their fault. And that’s when you just need to breathe, smile, and remember sarcasm. Still working on that. Throwing a fit is still my natural response.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

