I watched two movies

…like, on purpose, not just cause they happened to be on TV (they were not). This is kind of a big deal for me, so I thought I’d have to make you read about them!

The two in question were La La Land and Manchester by the Sea. Full disclosure: when it comes to movies, I’m a crier. I’d need more than my both hands to count the number of times I’ve had to explain to people in my life that “no no, I’m fine. It’s just this MOVIE/BOOK is very sad.”.

MV5BMzUzNDM2NzM2MV5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwNTM3NTg4OTE@._V1_SY1000_SX675_AL_

La La Land
As opposed to my asshole colleague* M, I like musicals, and am not ashamed of it. I would have wanted to see this one in the cinema, but it didn’t go up in our local one and I didn’t care enough to travel further. Admittedly though, I was skeptical – I thought it would be too cynical and shallow.

Eeeeeh. Well. If you understand Swedish you should read this review by author Amanda Hellberg. Hilarious as always. While she quit after 44 minutes, I watched the whole thing!

Can we also please address that Gosling can’t sing for shit?** How do you get cast for a musical without being able to sing? ffs. My feelings for him are easily summarized in one word: meh. Emma Stone, however, that’s a proper celebrity crush! I thought she was great in both Easy A and Crazy, Stupid, Love,  PLUS she can sing:

There was absolutely no crying for me in regards to this movie, and the highlight was the song above (really like it). BUT. I so like Emma, I’ll probably watch it again at some point, despite Gosling’s appearance. The ending was also right up my alley.


MV5BMTYxMjk0NDg4Ml5BMl5BanBnXkFtZTgwODcyNjA5OTE@._V1_SY1000_CR0,0,674,1000_AL_

Manchester by the Sea
Alrighty, I’ll have to admit that I did think “clearly this is the more attractive Affleck brother”, before remembering that he was going around social media because he was accused of multiple cases of sexual harassment. So I take that back.

Since this movie was recommended by a fellow movie-crier, I knew there would be tears,  and boy were there. I enjoyed the pace of the movie – it took its time to tell the story and develop the characters. And, even though the above statement of Affleck stays true, to me he portrayed this person and his story very well, and had me crying there (duh). Michelle Williams should also be mentioned, and was equally persuading in her part. The movie is all about the men though, with Williams’ role being a side story (no matter how important) – so a thumbs down for that.

All in all, these were pretty well chosen movies, both of which I enjoyed watching. Manchester by the Sea was definitely more touching, although La La Land is the one I’m most likely to re-watch (despite Gosling’s singing…)


*I’ve also called him asshole to his face, when he insisted that “negerzoenen” (“nigger kisses”) were an appropriate term for a treat since they have “always been called that”. Helped very little, but at least I tried.

** Ok, maybe I was a bit harsh? I’ve listened to it again, and didn’t find it as bad as I did when watching the movie. I was cringing every time he sang throughout… I guess I’ll cut him some slack?

2 thoughts on “I watched two movies

  1. Alltså!

    1. Igenkänning. Faktiskt aktivt söka upp och titta på film. Händer ej ofta, och när det händer..nästan alltid dåligt val.

    2. Har tänkt se Manchester… men Nina är lite anti pga just det, gråtvarning. Ej lovande mao.

    3. Det är så jävla tråkigt med den här Affleck-killen, han är ej dålig på sitt jobb och hyfsat handsome men va faan, way to spoil it guy.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

